2000 - 2009


2000 Sydney – ICTF
With the Sydney Olympics only weeks away, interest in the Competition was at an all-time high. A new website was established and the Competition received a record 1100 entries, along with extensive media coverage. The Overall Winner was Loftus Pies, Kirrawee, New South Wales, while Mick's Bakehouse, Leeton, New South Wales, won the Gourmet Section for the second year in a row.


2001 Brisbane – ICTF
Long serving industry expert Brian Casserley was appointed chief judge, and led a very experienced team of 10 judges who judged over 1100 entries. The Overall Winner was 1999 runner-up, Little Jack Horners, Argenton, New South Wales, while Goldstein's Bakery, Gold Coast, Queensland, won the Gourmet Section.


2002 Melbourne – Fine Food
This year's Competition attracted well over 1000 entries judged by a team of 13, under the expert guidance of Brian Casserley. William Angliss College supported the event supplying two judges and numerous apprentices. The Overall Winner was The Purple Onion Cafe, Heathmont, Victoria, while The Miami Bakehouse, Mandurah, Western Australia, won the Gourmet Section.


2003 Sydney – Fine Food
Cereform and General Mills became gold sponsors, replacing Weston Milling. Entries exceeded all expectations with an additional 345 entries over the previous year's record. The Overall Winner was Village Hot Bake Bakery/Cafe, Dubbo, New South Wales, while The Upper Crust, Collaroy, New South Wales, won the Gourmet Section.


2004 Melbourne – Fine Food
Allied Mills became a gold sponsor, replacing Cereform. The Competition attracted a record number of entries – double those in Melbourne two years earlier and 100 more than the record in Sydney last year. The Overall Winner was Rolling Pin Pie & Cake Shop, Ocean Grove, Victoria, while Bremen Patisserie, Umina, New South Wales and Goldsteins, Ashmore City, Queensland, tied for first place in the Gourmet Section.


2005 Sydney – Fine Food
Rosella became a silver sponsor, while Fonterra and Microfan became bronze sponsors. Longtime supporter EOI reached 12 years of platinum sponsorship and Lindsay PieMaking Equipment continued as the sole remaining foundation sponsor, with 16 years of support. Entries once again set a new record while media interest continued at a very high level, including three live national television crosses,radio interviews and newspaper coverage. The Overall Winner was Village Hot Bake, Dubbo New South Wales - the first competitor to win the outright prize twice. The Gourmet Trophy was won by Mick's Bakehouse, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales.


2006 Melbourne – Fine Food
New sponsors MIWE and Heinz were a welcome addition to the sponsorship team. Strong support from all media across the country continued, including two live crosses on the Channel 9 Today Show. The Overall Winner was Merwans Pies, Langwarren,Victoria. For the second time Mick's Bakehouse, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, won the Gourmet Section.


2007 Sydney – Fine Food
We were sad to say goodbye to the Australian Mushroom Growers Association after a 10 year association, but were pleased to welcome Cookon Catering Equipment as a new sponsor. A massive new prize was offered by Lindsay PieMaking Equipment, makers of the Simple Simon range, of an $8500 hand depositor, which every entrant had a chance to win. Heinz introduced a new trophy called The Heinz Plate which was awarded to the Overall Winner, Trinity Height Bakehouse, Kelso, New South Wales. Dough Fusion, Coolum Beach, Queensland, won the Gourmet Section. The winner of the Simple Simon Pie Depositor was Stewart's Bakery, Mt. Clear, Ballarat, Victoria.


2008 Melbourne – Fine Food
Another successful year for the Competition with over 150 more entries than Melbourne 2006. A team of 29 people worked on the Melbourne event with 13 judges, and 16 backroom helpers including 7 students from William Angliss TAFE. The Overall Winner was Dough Fusion, Coolum, Queensland, while Mooroopna Bakery, Mooroopna, Victoria, won the Gourmet Section.


2009 Sydney – Fine Food
This year the Competition received national media exposure on Channel 7’s Sunrise program and Channel 9 National News. The Overall Winner was Mick’s Bakehouse, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales. La Bakehouse Cafe, Penrith, New South Wales won the Gourmet Section and Parkview Bakery, Maryborough, Victoria, won the runner up trophy, The Heinz Plate.